Skip to content

Prematurity Awareness Day

November 17, 2009

1 in 8 babies is born prematurely in the United States. I was one of them. Today, November 17, is Prematurity Awareness Day. It is important to know about prematurity and join the March of Dimes in their fight against it because of the devastation it causes families in terms of disease and illnesses and also medical bills. My dad said my hospital bill was $1.5 million.

I’m so glad that the March of Dimes was there when I was a born and I’m glad that so many wonderful people are helping them raise awareness and fight to make sure that one day every baby will get a healthy start.

To learn more about prematurity and find out how you can help get involved with the March of Dimes visit www.marchofdimes.com/fightforpreemies.

Love,
Josh

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    November 17, 2009 10:38 pm

    Josh- I loved reading your story. It reminds me so much of my twin boys. I have twin 8 year old boys that were born at 26 weeks. One weighed 2 lbs. and the other 1 lbs 5 oz. My son Adam was born with a congenital heart defect called Atrial Ventricular Septal Defect, and has had two open heart surgeries, and about 6 other surgeries including two laser eye surgeries. He looks a lot like you!! Cute as a button. His twin, was the smaller of the two, but was spared many of the medical problems his brother has faced. We too spent about 3 1/2 months in the NICU, and spent over 1.5 Million in medical bills for Adam, and about $750,000, for Brandon. My boys are the highlight of my life. Thanks to the medical team and the work of March of Dimes, they are doing AMAZING..both are great baseball players, and love to play with their friends. THANK YOU for inspiring all of us. Sending love and blessings from Chicago.

  2. 2010nationalambassador permalink
    November 27, 2009 8:12 pm

    Dear Stephanie,
    Thank you so much for sharing your story, too. Your boys both sound amazing! My little brother Alex likes baseball, too. I think we will be going to Chicago as part of our travels so maybe we can meet you in person. Will you be walking in March for Babies 2010? I hope we can get as many people as possible to raise money so we can stop prematurity.

    Thanks again for reaching out. Stay in touch!

    Love,
    Josh

Leave a Reply

