Skip to content

Fabulous Continental Flight #45

November 20, 2009

Flight 45 Crew

As we boarded our Continental Flight #45 headed back to Miami from NYC, none of us were particularly eager to go home after our action-packed six days of meetings at the March of Dimes National Office and promoting prematurity awareness.  What a full day we just had on the set of Fox and Friends with the endearing Gretchen Carlson (a warm and devoted March of Dimes volunteer since 2004!) and then at NBC Studios to tape an interview for a satellite news feed later that evening.  Except we all agreed we missed our dog Boodle, and one thing was for sure, we were all thirsty.  As soon as we stored our bags in the plane and sat down in our seats, Josh and Alex gulped down tall glasses of whole milk while Lee and I had our personal favorites Mr. and Mrs. T’s tomato juice, a Continental Airlines exclusive.  About 30 minutes into the flight, Alex looked at me and said he had to go to the bathroom as he unbuckled himself and flew down the aisle.  He had a tummy ache for sure.  I was positive it was all those strawberries he ate at dinner the night before.  Back in our seats I thought he was all better until he looked at me with panic – a look I had seen before and there was only one thing I could do.  Quick!  Grab the plastic bag holding all those extra things that didn’t fit into our suitcases!!!  In the process I knocked over my glass of tomato juice right onto Alex’s Diego backpack.  Everything came out of the glass but nothing came out of Alex’s mouth except for a loud burp which the passengers around us so courteously tried to ignore.  Without missing a beat, Zi one of the flight attendants was there handing me wet towels, napkins, and a blue plastic bag.  After Alex’s color came back to his face and he declared he was hungry, Zi came over with a new drink for me and Alex’s turkey sandwich.  When Zi saw the March of Dimes folder I had sitting on my lap and after she learned we were the new National Ambassador Family for 2010, her face lit up.  The Flight #45 flight crew loves the March of Dimes – they couldn’t wait to take a picture with the boys!  When we touched down in Miami, it was a smooth landing to a smooth trip.  What a perfect way to end our first Ambassador trip – on Fabulous Flight #45.

By Melanie

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Katherine Robinson permalink
    November 22, 2009 5:16 pm

    Dear Josh,
    My name is Katherine Robinson, and I was also born a “micro-preemie”. I was born at 26 weeks, as an identical twin, and I too remained in the hospital for nearly five months preceeding my birth. I am now 16 years old, and a Senior Girl Scout who is working on her Gold Award, the highest award a Girl Scout can achieve. For my project, I am hoping to increase education, awareness, and supplies for premature infants and families within my community. I am interested in your thoughts and opinions on my project. I would be honored to hear from you. My e-mail adress is: Smrobins@twcny.rr.com
    Sincerely,
    Katherine Robinson
    Oswego, NY

    • 2010nationalambassador permalink
      December 1, 2009 4:11 am

      Dear Katherine,
      Congrats on all of the amazing things you have done and are about to do! That’s so cool that you chose ‘fighting prematurity’ for your Girl Scouts Gold Award project.

      The March of Dimes has a great website that teaches all about prematurity http://www.marchofdimes.com. Everyone can log on to learn about prematurity and what they can do to try to stop it from happening to them or someone they know.

      Also, your local March of Dimes chapter office has some really cool brochures that teach about prematurity. I’m sure they would be so happy to meet you and learn about your project, too!

      So once you have all of the education tools, maybe you could visit some OB doctor offices, talk to them about educating their patients about prematurity and the signs of pre-term labor. Maybe you can leave some brochures in their waiting rooms?

      And last but not least, families of preemies and supplies. The families can learn so much from the March of Dimes website, too. And as for supplies, anything that you think of to give to families when they leave the NICU and their baby finally gets to go home will be treasured forever…a preemie-sized hat or bib, a plush or a March of Dimes awareness band!

      I hope this helps get you started. I hope to stay in touch and hear how your project is going.

      Again, thanks so much for everything!

      Love,
      Josh and my Family

  2. Cristina Shapiro permalink
    November 27, 2009 3:40 pm

    Dear Josh, Alex, Lee, and Lani:
    Our family is thrilled to know that Josh has been appointed Ambassador to the March of Dimes! Congratulations! I still remember vividly the day that Josh was born, and I remember how hard we all prayed for baby Joshua and for your family in those first few days and months when Josh fought so valiantly to be here today. On the local news I got to see the best of both of you through Josh….his love of music (Lee) and his kind eloquence (Lani). Alex so handsome! I even caught a glimpse of Boodle! I’ll be following you on the blog. Enjoy and all my love to all, Cristina Shapiro

    • 2010nationalambassador permalink
      December 1, 2009 2:39 am

      To Our Dear Friend Cristina.
      You have been such an inspiration to Lee and me through all the years we’ve known you – always knowing what to say and when to say it. And when Josh was born so early, you were right there for us even at our darkest hours. We only hope you know how much your friendship helped us get through our most terrifying moments and how your outlook on life helped us shape who we are as parents and individuals today. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for everything. Everyone in this world should have a friend like you. Your children are so lucky to have you has their Mom and we wish you and your family a happy and healthy Holiday Season and New Year!
      All our love,
      Melanie, Lee, Josh and Alex (and Boodle, too!)

  3. Jill permalink
    November 29, 2009 7:32 am

    God Bless you & your family! What a miracle! I most recently had a beautiful baby girl, Naomi Hope Marish, born April 27, 2009 (due date July 19 2009). I had to have am emergency c section and Naomi was born 1 lb 12 oz. She lived for 35 days in the NICU and got very very ill & passed away June 1, 2009. It is extremely difficult for me, I have never been through a loss and I am only 22 years old. I absolutely love children and I came across your story. I want to give back and help and find a way to make things stop, make premature birth stop. Little Josh is a miracle! God Bless you & your family.

    • 2010nationalambassador permalink
      December 1, 2009 3:10 am

      Dear Jill,
      You are such an incredibly strong and compassionate woman, and it is your intense desire to help stop prematurity from happening that will serve as such a great inspriation to so many people.

      As the new year approaches, we’re all getting geared up for our annual March for Babies campaign, and we need people like you to help encourage as many people as possible to come out and walk. Here’s how you can help.

      1) Log onto http://www.marchforbabies.org to set up a Family Team or Corporate Team.

      2) Send emails from your Team Page to as many people as possible encouraging them to support your team and donate to the March of Dimes.

      3) Recruit other friends and family to join the walk and raise as much money as possible.

      I look forward to staying in touch with you. Thank you so much for your kind words.

      Love,
      Melanie

Leave a Reply

