Skip to content

In My Lifetime

December 4, 2009

Six years ago I would have done anything for a crystal ball. 

When our son Joshua was born four months early and we didn’t know if he would live, my husband Lee and I were never more terrified in our lives.  Everyday was a struggle for us to get out of bed and face the challenges the day would inevitably bring.  But over time, we pulled from strength we didn’t know we had and made it our mission to help Joshua beat the odds.  And he did.

In my lifetime (oh my goodness I hope it’s not even half over!) I think I accomplished so far pretty much everything I set out to do.  Not without a great deal of effort, might I add, since nothing ever came easy and I trekked through many valleys while reaching for those mountaintops.  Certainly I didn’t sign up to have a micro-preemie when Lee and I made the decision to have our first baby.  Yet, I was chosen and put to the ultimate challenge.

One of the greatest honors I have ever received is happening today, December 4th, for one week.  Lifetime Television will highlight me on their web site and on cable television as part of their campaign called, “Lifetime Celebrates Remarkable Women.”  The focus of the campaign is to shine a spotlight on an extraordinary woman, who inspires and empowers others to make a difference in their communities and the world.

Here’s the link – http://www.mylifetime.com/my-lifetime-commitment/ewc/every-women-counts-salutes/index

I along with my family are indebted to the March of Dimes for all of the lifesaving research and treatments funded by them that saved both of our boys.  I am so honored to accept this incredible Lifetime Television recognition not just for what I have done but also for what I am about to do.  I want to share it with all of the preemie moms out there who just like my family and I did, won the fight against prematurity.  Everyday we will keep fighting for everyone else until one day all babies are born healthy.

I’d love to share one of my favorite quotes:  “Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, and today is a gift – that’s why they call it the present!”  The struggles of the past few years as a result of Josh’s early birth are behind us, and while I will never have a crystal ball, the concept of mystery in every tomorrow has become a treat for Josh, Alex, Lee and me.  Because all of our today’s are truly gifts that we share together as we continue to discover, grow, and relish the joys life brings.

May everyone find your precious gifts in each of your today’s.

All my love,
Melanie
 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

