Skip to content

2 Missions 1 Cause: Mission Pharmacal is a new National Sponsor!

January 28, 2010

Gobie, Me, and Jane Massey

I was peeking through the crack of the door into the room where I was going to be giving my speech and all of a sudden I got bonked in the head by the door.  Ouch!   It was Jane Massey from the March of Dimes and she gave a me big hug and kissed my boo boo on my head.  She made it feel much better.  Do you know that Jane has been with the March of Dimes for 38 years?  That’s a long time and she is so cool.  She is one of the happiest people I know.

Oh, I forgot to say where we were.  We were in Las Vegas or “Vegas Baby Vegas!” as my daddy taught me and Alex to say.  We went there to go to a sales meeting for Mission Pharmacal.  They are a company that makes pre-natal vitamins and they’re a new National Sponsor for March for Babies.  Everyone there was so friendly!  I talked to lots of people and laughed a lot.  Maybe I was slap-happy because I was still on Florida time even though it was 8:00 PM in Las Vegas.  It was way past my bedtime but I was having too much fun to be sleepy. 

I met a man named Gobie.  He’s the President of Mission Pharmacal and I like his name as much as I like him!  His real name is Neil and he told me his daddy started the company 60 years ago.  And there was Terry and Brian who gave speeches about their loving families and how excited they are to work with the March of Dimes.

I think this is when I said something funny!

My speech was about taking my multivitamins like my mommy took her pre-natal vitamins and living life to the fullest because I almost didn’t live at all.  Everyone laughed very hard when I told them I was enjoying being in Las Vegas, especially seeing the fake volcano outside our hotel (we were at the Mirage Hotel) and the dancing water fountains at the Bellagio.  Mostly I talked about March for Babies and how everyone can go to www.marchforbabies.org and set up their teams and start raising money.

One of my favorite parts of the night was watching how they raised $2,000 in just 2 minutes!  Really, I’m not joking.  Cindy Cooney from the March of Dimes asked if we thought we could raise $200 in 2 minutes.  Everyone kept shouting out lots of big numbers and all of a sudden $200 turned into $2,000!  It was awesome! 

Bennett Kennedy from Mission Pharmacal said he would shave his head like my daddy’s if their company raised so much money and the person who raised the most could even shave it.  Isn’t that so funny?

Brian, Me, Bennett (with hair!) and another cool Mission Pharmacal person right behind me

What a great trip we had!  I love Mission Pharmacal so much because they really want to help the March of Dimes reach their mission of every baby being born healthy.  It’s a great cause that touches us all.

Love,

Joshua and my Mommy, too
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa Bettis permalink
    January 29, 2010 2:54 am

    I just realized my pre-natel vitamins are made by Mission! 🙂

  2. January 30, 2010 12:25 pm

    Hi Melissa!
    That’s so cool 🙂 I hope you had a safe trip back to Dallas. It was so great to meet you. You are so great! Thanks for letting me touch your belly and feel your baby Savannah in your tummy. That was very neat!!! I hope to see you again soon.
    Love,
    Josh

  3. Melissa Bettis permalink
    January 31, 2010 12:06 am

    Hi Josh,

    I had a great trip back to Dallas. I drove by a real cowboy ranch today and told my husbad about you and that you want to be a cowboy when you grow up. Thank you and Alex so much for making me such a wonderful picture to put on my desk. I’ll think of you both each time I see it. Safe travels and I’ll see you when I come back to FL this summer. Be good.

Leave a Reply

