Skip to content

Rutherford County – State Farm is there!

February 4, 2010

When we drove up to State Farm Insurance Company’s building it was a very long one-story brick building with white pillars.  I want to be a builder one day, and a photographer, too, and I liked this building very much.  The inside was just as cool as the outside.  We were going to meet some people on the State Farm Team for March for Babies and thank them for raising so much money – they’re the top team in Rutherford County and they have the highest goal out of all the teams for this year, too. 

It was an adventure getting to the meeting room.  I was holding hands with Lynda Berretta and we zoomed down the hallways making car engine noises (not loud).  It was like a maze and then we went around a corner.  “Zoom!” We flew into a room full of people.  They all looked up kind of surprised and then they all burst out laughing.  I think we made a grand entrance!

I was listening to some of their ideas to raise money this year – bake sales, silent auctions, Valentine’s Day baskets, and car washes.  Someone said poker, too.  I’m not sure what that is but everyone liked the idea.

I have a feeling they’re going to raise the money they say they will.  They all seem to want to work hard to do it. 

Me and Stacy Kirksey in front of the State Farm bell

After that we went to a fun museum for the Rutherford County Kickoff.  I pretended to drive the Murfreesboro fire truck and took a picture for the Murfreesboro Post newspaper as a pretend fire fighter.  I am fighting for preemies so it makes sense!

Check it out – they wrote about the Kickoff in the Murfreesboro Post newspaper!

http://www.murfreesboropost.com/mod/ophoto/index.php?albumid=341

There were lots of kids there and some of them were wearing a purple lei like me.  That meant they were born preemie, too. 

It was fun to give my speech to kids, too.  I’m pretty sure they were listening becasue the room was quiet.  I hope they set up their Family Team at marchforbabies.org like I did.

That's me giving my speech to all the kids and their families.

My family team has raised over $1,500 so far!  Woohoo!

Love, Josh

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 12:59 am

    Josh,
    I wanted to tell you that it was such an honor to meet you at the Rutherford County March for Babies Kick-off last Tuesday. You are amazing and an inspiration to us all. I think you are the perfect person to represent all babies so that they are born healthy. I am so very proud to have met you and look forward to reading your blog. I hope you enjoy your travels. Have Fun and Stay Safe.

    God Bless,
    Tim, Traci, Nate, and Abby McKee
    Rutherford County Family Ambassador

Leave a Reply

