Skip to content

Memphis’ March of Dimes “Dimettes”

February 5, 2010

We woke up at the crack of dawn.  Memphis was cold and rainy and I was a little tired.  But, I was very excited to go to KIM 98.9 radio station so I knew it was going to be worth it.  I like being on the radio because I get to talk into a microphone just like I do when I give my speeches.  The radio people Tom and Dr. Susan asked me great questions about being the National Ambassador and I told them about all of the great people I met in Tennessee who are helping us to save babies.  People who talk on the radio are always so funny and say great things.  Their brains think so fast.  I’m learning a lot from them and I’m so happy they’re helping to tell everyone about March for Babies.

Live on the radio in the morning!

Tom Prestigicomo, Dr. Susan Murrman, the radio hosts, with me and my Mom

TV anchors Marybeth Conley and Alex Coleman for Live at Nine TV Channel 3 - WREG

Then we drove to the TV station at Peabody Place – Channel 3 Live at Nine with Marybeth Conley and Alex Coleman.  The TV set was different than the one I was on at Fox and Friends in New York.  It was right in the middle of the mall!  When I met Alex I told him he has the same name as my little brother Alex.  My mom was talking to Marybeth about her four kids who were all born healthy.  When the cameras were rolling I felt like a star on TV! 

Next we went to the March for Babies Team Captain Kickoff.  It was in a place called The Tower Room and we took an elevator all the way to the 34th Floor.  The elevator went up fast and all of our ears were popping like when we’re on an airplane.  The view from the windows was great and I saw a train that was moving and another building that had 20 floors.  I counted them all.

It was fun to hear Mr. Shannon from Fedex give his speech because I just met him the day before at his office and now he was talking about how Memphis was going to raise $502,000 for March for Babies this year.  That sounds like a lucky number so I think they’re going to get it!

Right before it was my turn to give a speech, a whole bunch of people wearing purple March of Dimes t-shirts came up to the front.  They started singing a song about healthy babies and volunteers to the tune of YMCA.  The words were on the back of the program so everyone in the room stood up and sang with them.  It was so much fun.  We even made the letters with our arms – Y M O D!  It was amazing!  The people in Memphis are so creative!  I’m going to learn the words and sing that song because I like to sing and that’s one of my new favorite songs!

The Memphis March of Dimes "DIMETTES"!

Dr. and Mrs. Hobson - amazing MOD volunteers and awesome MOD Dimettes!

This is Mr. Willie Henry, assistant to Congressman Steve Cohen, 2010 Memphis MFB Honorary Chair

Going back down the elevator 34 flights felt like we were on the Tower of Terror ride at Hollywood Studios.  I’ve never been on that ride but now I know what it feels like.

Right before we went to the airport home, we stopped at Baptist Women’s Hospital to visit their NICU.  The nurses were so sweet.  They even had a step stool waiting for me at the window of the NICU so I could see what it looked like.  Every time I asked a question one of the nice nurses answered.  I learned more about how the doctors and nurses help preemies get better so they can go home.  I met a physical therapist too who showed me a pacifier.  Now I can’t wait to see the one my mom said she saved from when I was in the NICU. 

This is a tiny pacifier like I had when I was in the NICU.

Getting home was just as much of an adventure as our whole trip in Tennessee.  Our flight was a little delayed in Memphis so we thought we would miss our next plane in Houston.  We changed our flight to flying into West Palm Beach instead of flying into Fort Lauderdale.  When we got to Houston, my mom told me if we ran maybe we could make it.  Otherwise we would get home much later.  So we ran a very long way to get to our next gate.  My legs got tired and I got a cramp in my tummy but my mom kept telling me I could do it.  I could do it.  I was laughing so hard.  My mom, too.  We finally got to Gate E22 where the plane was going to Fort Lauderdale where we live.  We made it just in time!  My mom knew I could do it and she was right!  The flight attendants were very nice.  They let me see what it feels like to sit in their jump seats.  It wasn’t very comfortable.  We took pictures and then landed in Fort Lauderdale right on time.  It was fun to be back in Florida after a really super duper great trip to Tennessee.

In the jump seat with Flight Attendants Kelly and TerriMy new flight attendant friends!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. David Silberman permalink
    February 7, 2010 3:58 am

    Hi Josh and Melanie,
    We re so glad you were able to come to Memphis–we loved having you visit our city!!!
    Josh–you are amazing. The speech you gave at the Memphis March for Babies kickoff was one of the best we have ever had–it touched everyone.
    We hope you have the chance to come back to Memphis in the future. Have a wonderful time in Washington next week and please say hello to President Obama from all of your new friends in Memphis!!

    • February 7, 2010 2:47 pm

      Hi David!
      Thanks so much for your note! I miss you especially all of our Knock Knock jokes. And I miss everyone in Memphis because you are all so much fun and so very very kind! My mom and I think you and everyone in Memphis are so great at what you do. You are a fantastic host and that was an awesome kickoff! We will never forget our visit to Memphis and all of Tennessee. Hope to see you again.
      Love always,
      Josh

Leave a Reply

