Skip to content

Today I challenged Kmart to…

February 15, 2010

We flew into Cleveland today.  My Grandma Joyce is with us on this trip so we’re extra excited to show her how we do our Ambassador thing and ask everyone to join us in our fight for preemies.  Scott Sterneckert, Northeast Ohio Division Executive Director is like what Todd was in Tennessee. Our host!  So far I think hosts are some of the coolest people around.  Scott, is just like Todd, he’s so nice and helpful and organized!  He gave us a whole book with maps and schedules and stories about our next four days here.  He even found out that I have the same birthday as John Hancock!  I learned he was the first to sign the Declaration of Independence and he had excellent handwriting just like President Obama said about mine. No wonder!

As soon as we got to our hotel, we had a conference call with Kmart.  Mom told me there will be about 125 people on the call and they are region and district managers.  Mr. Bruce Johnson and Mr. Don Germano are top people with Kmart and I was going to propose a challenge for them.  I couldn’t wait!  The first thing they said on the call we couldn’t believe.  Kmart started their March for Babies campaign yesterday, on February 14.  In just one day, they raised over $140,000!   Isn’t that unbelievable?!?  Kmart’s goal this year is to raise $10 million.  I just know they will do it because they have already raised $80 million in 26 years and $140,000 in one day.  Wow! 

So do you want to know my challenge?  It’s just for Mr. Bruce and Mr. Don.  Since my goal is to raise $30,000 for my Team Joshua Hoffman, I challenged them to raise more than that.  If they do it, I will go to them and treat them to ice cream.  If they don’t, they have to do a 3-legged walk for their March for Babies.  They told me they like ice cream very much and look forward to my treat!

My Mom and Grandma were born and raised in Cleveland.  So some of my Great Great Aunts still live here and my cousins, too.  We went to Corky and Lenny’s restaurant where my Mom used to go with her friends all the time and got to see Aunt Mae who is 90 years old (I figured out that she is 83 years older than me), Aunt Betty who is 87 years old, and my cousins Gary and Alan.  Aunt Mae had a stroke in August I was asking her questions about how it happened and she was telling me about all of the physical therapy she has to do.  I did physical therapy, too.  I told her how I learned to walk and climb ladders and balance on a balance beam with Ms. Pam.  My Aunt Betty told me she was also a preemie.  She was born 3 months early and weighed 2 pounds and she said me how her mommy put her in a cigar box because she was so small.  That was 87 years ago.  I put my hand up to hers – both of us used to have tiny hands but now mine is almost as big as hers!  I’m so happy I got to see my family.

My Great Great Aunt Betty and I are fellow preemies!

Love,

Josh

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

