Skip to content

The People of Publix

February 25, 2010

When I woke up this morning I didn’t know where I was.  The last thing I remember is falling asleep in the car on the way home from the airport.  And then I woke up with my pajamas on and slowly figured out I was in my own bed!  But I didn’t have time to rest, I needed to get up and get ready for the Publix event.  Then I realized I just learned a whole new speech last night and wondered if I remembered any of it.  I practiced it in the shower and as I was getting dressed.  Alex wanted to play but I told him I was busy practicing so he said alright. 

When we got to the place (it was called Signature Grand and looked like a big beautiful mansion!) someone said we’re going on earlier and then everything happened so fast.  We walked through a big room and then down a long hallway and then through the back kitchen and through a door and all of a sudden we were onstage.  Spotlights were shining on us and we couldn’t really see the 500 people from Publix in the audience but I knew they were there.  I remembered my speech!  I was so happy and then Mom gave an award to Ed Crenshaw, CEO, and Todd Jones, President, for being the #4 National Corporate Sponsor in 2009.  Over the past 14 years Publix has raised over $32 million.  Amazing!

Then they gave me and Alex the biggest gift baskets filled with the biggest candy bars we have ever seen.  The basket was bigger than Alex and he made everyone laugh as he tried to carry it across the stage.  It was very cute!

We love all of the amazing PEOPLE at Publix. That's us onstage as they're so kindly giving us a big gift basket.

Right before we left I met a lady who came over to us and told us she just took her folic acid today.  That was in my speech!  I talked about how the March of Dimes makes sure that all moms know to take folic acid everyday so babies will not be born with neural tube birth defects.  She has a baby girl in her belly and she’s going to have it any day she said.  She let me feel her tummy.  It was so big and interesting!  I told her I hope her baby is born healthy. 

Here's the very nice pregnant lady who's going to deliver her baby soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 2:53 pm

    Way to go Joshua!! I wish I could have been there to see you give your speech. I can’t wait for you to tell me all about it when I see you in Houston on Sunday.

  2. Rick Gallo permalink
    February 26, 2010 4:59 pm

    Hey Josh (and company!) what a GREAT week. Thank you for all you are doing. I loved the Publix blog….they are such a great company and so important to our success.
    I hope to see you soon!! Keep up the good work. We love you!!

    Rick Gallo and family!!

Leave a Reply

