Skip to content

Speaker Gordon Fox and Rep. Eileen Naughton support the March of Dimes!

March 2, 2010

We couldn’t be late for our appointment downtown.  We were going to the Rhode Island Statehouse to be introduced on the House floor!

March of Dimes visits the Rhode Island Statehouse!

We're here to lobby at the Rhode Island Statehouse!

The Statehouse building was so cool.  Like the Capitol Building in Washington DC but just a little smaller.  And the bathroom even matched the architecture of the building.  Neil Sharpe said (in his very cool Scottish accent) it would be a “royal flush” every time we went.  I thought that was funny!  I want to be an architect when I grow up so I love big domed roofs and arched doorways and pillars.  We met Jeff Gale from the March of Dimes who works on all of the Public Affairs things in RI and has connections with Rep. Eileen Naughton who was wearing purple everything and was going to introduce us during the meeting with Rhode Island’s State Representatives.  We went in with Betsy Akin, State Director for RI and other states like Connecticut, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine.  She’s so full of energy and always knows the best things to say wherever we are. 

The carpet in the Statehouse Room was red.  I handed out my Ambassador Card to lots of people. 

I'm showing Rep. Naughton how tiny I was when I was born in the picture on my Ambassador Card.

Rep. Naughton is showing me what all the buttons mean at her seat.

The big meeting was about to start because the Speaker of the House was there.  His name is Gordon Fox and Representative Naughton took my hand and led me to her seat.  She sits right in the front row like I do at school!   And she showed me all the buttons at her table like to one to vote yes and vote no and the one to press if she wants some water.  That’s really neat!

I jumped when I heard his hammer bang on the table.  I learned that’s called a gavel and that’s how he gets everyone to stop talking and listen to him.  Not a bad idea.  Lots of different people stood up and talked into their microphone about different things and then Rep. Naughton’s name was called so she stood up and spoke into her microphone.  She told the Speaker that she wanted to introduce our family so she asked Mom and Alex (they were sitting on the side of the room) and Me (I was still at Rep. Naughton’s seat!) to stand, and Betsy and Alison Becker too who were sitting with Mom and Alex and the purple March of Dimes banner.  Then Rep. Naughton shared with all of the politicians in the room my story about how early I was born, how little I weighed, how the doctors said I wouldn’t be able to do lots of things, and how great I’m doing now thanks to the March of Dimes.   She finished and every single person in the room stood up and clapped really loud.  We got a standing ovation and it was the most amazing thing to see. 

Rhode Island's State Representatives gave the March of Dimes a standing ovation!

The meeting was over right after that so we got to meet the Speaker of the House in his office upstairs.  He is the nicest man and told us how great he thinks the March of Dimes is.  Mom told him different parts of our story he didn’t hear yet, she told him that my care cost over $1 million, and that we had insurance but how many women don’t have insurance and need it.  She told him how the money at the March of Dimes is so well spent.  Mr. Speaker listened and agreed and thanked us so much for coming to Rhode Island all the way from Florida. 

Mr. Speaker of the Rhode Island House, Gordon Fox, and Rep. Eileen Naughton, a huge supporter of the March of Dimes!

We’re so happy we came!  We wouldn’t have missed this for anything.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lisa Mae P. permalink
    March 3, 2010 3:19 pm

    Josh, it is nice to see your picture. I too was a premie. I weighed 1 pound 13.5 ounces. Never thought to figure out my weight in money—that is cool.

    Best Wishes.

Leave a Reply

