Skip to content

University of Phoenix is a Class Act!

March 5, 2010

We had no idea we were going to such a fancy party when we went to the University of Phoenix March for Babies kickoff today!

Mom picked me up early from school today.  I had a lot of tests today and I was so happy I got 100% on my Spelling test and missed only one on my English test and DLP. 

I stayed in my school uniform because I figured since we’re going to a kickoff with a university I would fit right in!  Alex was dressed like he’s in college, too.  But when we got there, everyone was dressed in beautiful long dresses and tuxedos.  There was loud music and even a red carpet with photographers taking pictures of everyone coming in.  It was so cool!  We felt like celebrities!

Walking down the red carpet. We felt like stars!

When they announced our family to come up to the stage and give our speeches, everyone stood up and clapped for us.  I told everyone how much I love school and that I’m going to work hard so I can go to a good college like University of Phoenix.  They cheered! 

That's when I was telling everyone at University of Phoenix that they help babies be born healthy!

University of Phoenix is a big sponsor for our walk here in Broward County, Florida.  They started a team last year for the first time and they wanted to do it again this year!  They raised over $13,000 last year and they are so excited to do a bunch of things like pizza parties, bake sales, car washes and even have computers at the events so people can register as a walker online and donate right there and then.  What a great idea!  They have a bunch of campuses where they’re going to be doing all of these fundraisers so I’m sure with all those people and places they’re going to raise much more than $13,000 this year.

Vicky Rosa is the University of Phoenix Team Captain for the 2nd year and we're with a student who's going to give a lot of money to the March of Dimes!

University of Phoenix sure knows how to make a great party – they’re a real “class act” my mom said.  Hey, that gives me an idea.  Speaking of act, another fundraiser could be selling tickets to a play and having all the money go to March for Babies.  BRAVO!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Asher permalink
    March 8, 2010 9:46 am

    Josh, thank you for headlining as our SUPERSTAR for our University of Phoenix – South Florida Campus March for Babies kickoff! Our 5 learning centers across South Florida and 16 learning centers across the state of Florida are excited to be a part of the March of Dimes March for Babies again this year. You are an inspiring leader!
    Sincerely,
    Asher

  2. Scott Siegel permalink
    March 8, 2010 10:06 am

    My wife and I participated in the walk last and we cannot wait for this year’s event. My son is 2 years old now and he is hoping to walk as much as he can. Josh, your courage and huge heart is an inspiration to everyone. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

