Skip to content

My Heroes

March 7, 2010

For the past seven years, we have gone to Detroit for one reason.  For my eyes.  The day before my discharge from the hospital after my 111-day stay in the neonatal intensive care unit, doctors told my Mom and Dad there was a 90% chance that I would be blind.  After all the other odds they say I had beaten, my parents said there was no way in the world that they would let this happen if they could stop it.  It was one doctor in Detroit, Michigan who took me under his care and after many long days, months, and years, today, I can see!  I see red cars miles down the road and I can read signs and chalkboards, and chapter books.  I am legally blind in my right eye and I have a low field of vision, but they say I have learned to compensate.  I love Dr. Trese for saving my eyes.  Dr. Trese is my hero.  And so are all the people who helped save my life.  They’re all heroes too.

Tomorrow we will be flying to Detroit.  For the first time in seven years, we will not be visiting Beaumont for eye drops or eye procedures.  We are going to Detroit to visit the National Co-Chair of March for Babies, heads of the car industry, Kmart, Fedex, and others.   These people are all continuing the fight for prematurity.  I am one of many babies born prematurely who has Retinopathy of Prematurity (ROP).  If we can stop prematurity from happening, we can stop ROP and all of the other complications that happen from being born too soon. 

Then everyone can be heroes!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brian Drzyzga - New Jersey permalink
    March 8, 2010 8:42 am

    The world needs more Heroes like Dr. Trese and Heroes like YOU, Josh. I am very proud of you and look forward to seeing what kind of man you grow up to be.

    Keep up your good work by explaining to the good people of Michigan about the importance of March of Dimes’ work. You ARE a Champion for Babies, Josh!

    With Love from New Jersey,
    Jillian & Evan’s Dad

Leave a Reply

