Skip to content

CIGNA is a March for Babies National Sponsor for 16 years!

March 16, 2010

When I woke up this morning, I didn’t feel so good.  I could have kept sleeping for a long time but I had to get up and get ready to go to the big CIGNA kickoff.  We were just about to leave our hotel room and go downstairs to meet Alison when I suddenly felt like throwing up.  Mom rushed me to the bathroom but it was a false alarm.  I guess I just needed some juice because I felt a little better after I had some. 

We got to CIGNA in Bloomfield, and as soon as Alison pulled up to the front door, that’s when I threw up.  Oh, no.  Everyone from CIGNA was waiting in the front lobby for us and I needed to change my pants.  They were all so nice to me.  After we went through security, they took us right to the bathroom.  I felt better in my clean pants and was ready to meet everyone.  We came all the way to Hartford for this and I wasn’t going to let a stuffy nose and sore throat (and a little throw up) stop me. 

CIGNA has been a National Sponsor for March for Babies for 16 years.  They have great goals for 2010 – they are trying to recruit 415 more walkers which would be a 15% increase from last year.  That would be so great!  And then they could raise $150,000 this year between their walkers raising money and their company-wide basket auctions, beanie sales, and dress down days.  If they do, then their total raised for the March of Dimes will be $1.8 million.  That’s so awesome!!!

When we got to the cafeteria, there were lots of big purple and white balloons, March for Babies banners, and lots of CIGNA people.  They gave me a big bag full of great gifts right when we got there (it was so sweet!) and my favorite was the Pirate beanie. 

I think this Pirate beanie is so cool and I think everyone at CIGNA is so cool, too!

I started to name him Pirate of the Caribbean but then I changed his name to Pirate of the March of Dimes.  That’s how I started my speech, too.  I introduced everyone to him and then told CIGNA how I love insurance companies because they helped pay for my care when I was born so early.

I was holding Pirate of the March of Dimes during my whole speech!

Tom Richards is their March for Babies chairperson and he is such a great and motivating person.  He hosted the event and at the end asked some trivia questions and the first people to answer got t-shirts!  What a fun way to make sure everyone knows all about the March of Dimes and to get everyone excited to raise lots more money this year.  I’m sure they will reach their goals because they are all so caring and amazing.

That's Tom Richards and he's inspiring his CIGNA team to reach their 2010 goals!

CIGNA and March of Dimes staff. CIGNA made great posters to promote the kickoff!

Kathy and Michelle from CIGNA are so wonderful!

Here's my new Pirate beanie - Pirate of the March of Dimes.

Alison took us back to the airport so we could fly home and I can get better for our next visits to Philadelphia and South Jersey next week!  I blew kisses to Alison and mom gave her big hugs.

When we went through Security, the security officer looked at my ticket, asked me my name, and told me Joshua is a strong name.  I told him I fought for my life when I was born so early so I guess I AM strong!

I slept on Mommy’s lap most of the flight home to Fort Lauderdale.  When we landed, I said, “Welcome home Mommy.”  I can’t wait to crawl into my own bed and go to sleep and sleep and sleep!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian Drzyzga - New Jersey permalink
    March 17, 2010 2:36 am

    What a Champ you are Joshua! Like many moms know, there’s no room for sick days when you have important work to do. You once again showed us what a strong young man you are.
    I’m so glad that you were able to speak with the good people at Cigna. They went out of their way to help our 2lb preemies in the NICU and made sure that we had everything that we needed. It’s nice to know that Chamions like Cigna are there when families like ours need them.
    Rest well today Joshua – you have lots of people to see this month and March for Babies is quickly approaching. Go get ’em!
    Jillian & Evan’s Dad

  2. Alison permalink
    March 17, 2010 9:28 am

    Hi Josh,

    You did such an amazing job yesterday! I know everyone at Cigna was so happy that you made it there and they loved meeting you. I am so proud of you! Hope you get alot of rest this week and I will see you on Monday.

    xoxo
    Alison

  3. Rick Gallo permalink
    March 17, 2010 1:40 pm

    Hey Josh….sorry to hear that you are not feeling well….hopefully you are better by the time you read this. You certainly are a trooper; getting up and giving a very important speech to one of our best national teams!! By coincidence, I used to have an office right near CIGNA in Bloomfield, CT. It’s a very nice area and I miss it sometimes. Especially in the fall when the leaves are changing and the weather is getting cooler. I do get up to Vermont now though…do you know where that is?? I own a motel and cabins up there. Maybe sometime you and your family would like to go there? You are welcome there anytime…my treat!! Well, get some rest and have a safe trip to Philadelphia!!
    Mr Rick

Leave a Reply

