Skip to content

When I’m a Dad

March 17, 2010

Sick days at home are fun! I get to sleep as long as I want and stay in my jammies all day, Mom keeps giving me lots of juice and she doesn’t even make me make my bed. So I watched my favorite shows on Disney Channel – Special Agent Oso, Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Handy Manny, and Imagination Movers. I like watching TV shows that teach me things. My mom didn’t tell me to say that. It’s true, I really do! My favorite show is on PBS – it’s Sid the Science Kid. I just took a test for science class on butterflies and I learned that butterflies have lots of little eyes, they taste with their feet and the smallest butterfly is the size of a thumbnail. How interesting!

I had some grammar homework and all of my math homework still to do so I did that. But I didn’t finish. There was so much and I was getting tired and hungry. So then it was time for lunch! Mom and I had a great lunch together. Not just because my bagel and cream cheese was so yummy but because of what we talked about. I was thinking about when I’m a Dad and what I would do.

Here’s how the conversation went:

Me: “When I’m a Dad, I’m going to give my kids freedom.”
Mom: (she sounded like she choked on her water for a second) “OK. For example?”
Me: “Well, like when it’s time to get ready for bed, they will have freedom to play and get ready when they need to.”
Mom: “How will they know when they need to stop playing and get ready?”
Me: “ ? “
Mom: “Can I give you a suggestion?”
Me: “Sure.”
Mom: “Teach your children right from wrong first so then when you give them their freedom, they’ll know what to do and what not to do. Just like Daddy and I are trying to teach you and Alex.”
Me: “OK.”
Mom: “Are there any other special things you’re going to do when you’re a Dad?
Me: “Yes! I’m going to love my wife like Daddy loves you.”

The rest of the day flew by. For dinner Mom made us the Nashville Music City pasta we got from the March of Dimes Tennessee Chapter. The noodles were shaped in boots and guitars so Alex and I turned on the CD that Ryder Lee sent to us (he’s the singer from The Lost Trailers and is a big supporter of the March of Dimes because he had a preemie, too) and we danced around and played our toy guitar. It was fun and the pasta was delicious!

When Dad came home, he wasn’t feeling so good either. He has a cold like I do. I gave him a hug and poured him some juice and told him he needed to rest. Because that’s what sons do!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

