Skip to content

Our Pediatrician is the Best!

March 20, 2010

Me and Dr. Cohen at my 7-year check up today.

I just love Dr. Cohen.  He’s my pediatrician and I’ve been going to him since I was about 20 months old.  He always takes such good care of me.  And my little brother Alex, too!  He’s the best!

My mom told me the story of the first time I went to Dr. Cohen.  I was sick.  I must have felt really awful because I was crying really loud.  My mom was not supposed to pick me up because she was very pregnant with Alex and her doctor wanted to make sure Alex wasn’t born early like I was.  So she didn’t know what to do with me when I was kicking and screaming and wouldn’t stop.  Dr. Cohen came in the room, picked me up and rocked me back and forth in his arms.  I stopped crying!  From that time on, we knew Dr. Cohen was a very special doctor. 

He always makes me and Alex better when we’re sick.  He took the splinter out of my finger and it didn’t even hurt.  He came into the office on Good Friday when it was closed and fixed Alex’s head when he fell against a shelf and it wouldn’t stop bleeding.  He lets my mom call him anytime she needs – she has his secret cell phone number.  He taught my mom and dad to “treat the patient not the number” (like if we have a high fever but we’re sleeping soundly – we’re going to be okay).  He finishes my mom’s sentences.  He always knows the right things to do at the right time.

Today I had my 7-year check up.  It’s a little late this year because we’ve been traveling so much.  But I still checked out great!  I’m 48 inches tall and I weigh 48 pounds.  That’s easy to remember.  I even let the nurse take my blood pressure.  I ran away from the chair last year and the nurse never caught me.  But I guess I’m growing in the right direction.  Everyone should have a pediatrician as wonderful as Dr. Cohen!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rick Gallo permalink
    March 21, 2010 6:00 am

    He sounds like a great doctor Josh. I’ve always thought that pediatricians had to be special people and VERY talented physicians. Many times they are dealing with patients that can’t tell them what’s bothering them or where it hurts because they are too young to speak!
    You and Alex are lucky to have Dr Cohen but then again, Dr Cohen is pretty lucky to have you!! Enjoy your day and safe travels this week!!

  2. Dr. Cohen permalink
    March 23, 2010 6:11 am

    Thanks so much Josh. The honor is truely mine. You are the hardest working 7 year old I know. Keep up the great work. I didn’t know you were going to be in the Sun-Sentinel on Sunday, it was a great article. Enjoy every minute.

Leave a Reply

