Skip to content

Something Special

March 25, 2010

My Mom and I did something special this morning. We went out to breakfast! Just the two of us. We went to Little Pete’s Diner down the street from our hotel and ate breakfast along with a bunch of men in business suits who were having their breakfast before they went to work. It was so much fun and my waffle was delicious, too!

Here's the diner where Mom and I ate breakfast.

We made two amazing visits before we flew home today. Kennedy Hospital in Gloucester County was first. I met Mr. Martin Bieber, President and CEO, and he’s so cool. We sat on the floor and had a great chat. He has a son named Joshua, too, he’s 31, and his birthday is the day before mine which is January 12. Joshua has a younger brother named Aaron who is 28. Aaron is a very special boy with a rare disease. His brother Joshua loves him so much. Aaron’s three siblings have learned so much from him that they studied about children in college and they work in places that revolve around children. Aaron has a very special family. Just like I do!

Mr. Bieber, President & CEO of Kennedy Hospital, and I were discussing that there should be a President of the Universe.

The Great Team Captains of Team Kennedy

I also had fun being interviewed by a health columnist, meeting the Team Captains of Kennedy Hospital’s March for Babies team, and touring the beautiful NICU. I especially loved the lights on the ceiling that looked like stars and met some great nurses who were taking care of very tiny babies and bigger babies who are almost ready to go home. Hooray!

NICU Nurses are simply the best!

I had a great time at Virtua, too. The people were really neat. I talked to a lovely lady wearing a hat who is a pediatrician and her husband is a pediatric cardiologist. She didn’t look old at all but she said she graduated college in 1969 so I think she’s taken care of thousands of babies and children. And I talked to head nurses and administrators, and Dr. Tedeschi, head of neonatology.

Some Team Captains for Team Virtua

It was time to give my speech and I always have so much fun standing on stage and talking into a microphone. When I finished, everyone in the room stood up and clapped. That standing ovation was really amazing just like all those people at Virtua.

It's fun to give speeches!

We flew home and I tried to do as much homework at I could on the plane but I was so very tired. It was a long week first in Philadelphia and then in South Jersey filled with so many people, places, and things. Everything was fantastic. All of it was my favorite! Being the 2010 National Ambassador for the March of Dimes is really something special.

A great way to end a great trip chatting with three very nice Continental Airlines flight attendants - Holly, Tina, and Monica.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rick Gallo permalink
    March 25, 2010 10:30 pm

    Hey Josh,
    I get tired just reading what you are doing every day!! I have no idea where you get your energy but if we could figure out a way to put it into a vitamin pill and sell it we could make millions for the MOD!!!
    I hope you have a well deserved restful weekend.
    Mr Rick

    • March 26, 2010 4:54 am

      Aww! Thanks Mr. Rick. You’re a really great role model you know since you’re Volunteer of the Year for Florida! I’m so happy you read my blog everyday along with hundreds of other people. Together we all make a great team as we’re fighting for all of our preemies. We’ve seen so many record goals already this year in our travels so I just know we’re moving in the right direction. Have a great weekend, too. I have Spring Break next week so no school and our next trip is on April 5 to Baltimore. So I have some time to rest and get more energy for our next visits coming up! You’re the best!
      Love,
      Josh

  2. Jacquie permalink
    March 26, 2010 9:47 am

    Hello there,

    We just love your blog 🙂 it is the best. You are spending so much time in my home state of New Jersey.. and one of my favorite cities is Philadelphia. Yes, the peopla are so great and welcoming.

    We miss you down here in South Florida but I hear you doing a terrific job as this year’s National Ambassador. I can’t wait to see you next week.

    Best,
    Jacquie

Leave a Reply

