Skip to content

Angel Babies

March 29, 2010

(Written by guest blogger Melanie, Josh’s Mom)

When Josh’s teacher from the school he attended last year (where Alex still attends this year) told me she was pregnant I was so thrilled for her. I just adore Ms. Melissa and asked if she was happy with her doctor and how everything was going so far. She was glowing as she spoke and said everything was so far so good. Ms. Melissa shared that she had some miscarriages before this pregnancy so she was thrilled that she was already 13 weeks and going strong. The next time I saw Ms. Melissa was at the school’s Family Fun Day. Since I’m the PTO President I was moving in ten different directions in an effort to make sure that this was another successful school event. But I always have time for Ms. Melissa so Alex and I gave her a big hug and asked how she was doing. As she answered “pretty good” and kneeled down to talk to Alex I squatted down too and was so excited to share the news with Alex that Ms. Melissa has a baby in her belly. I didn’t hear at first when Ms. Melissa said, “actually I don’t anymore…” When I processed it, I didn’t know what to say to either my five-year-old Alex standing there or to my Josh’s former beloved teacher who now had tears in her eyes. I had seen Ms. Melissa in passing a few times since she told me the good news and all was still going well. But that day she was mourning the sudden loss of her baby and I needed to shift gears fast. I gave her the biggest hug and tried to stay strong even though I was fighting back the urge to cry. Why did that have to happen to such an amazing teacher who will make such an amazing mom? It’s not fair at all!

Fast-forward to today. I just found out someone else close to our family lost her baby, too. Laura from our local March of Dimes office was in her 22nd week of her first pregnancy. She had some complications early on but stayed strong and was under what seemed like excellent care. Suddenly she went into pre-term labor and her baby didn’t make it. Again, I asked the question why?

Both Ms. Melissa and Laura did everything right. Grants are given by the March of Dimes to doctors and researchers to study the causes of these types of pregnancies. Their findings will no doubt help prevent the outcomes my friends had and so many others have, too. We will plant a tree, name a star, and always honor those special angel babies…babies who remind us how precious life is and that we cannot always answer why? It’s experiences like these that teach us we have strength, and it sometimes comes from the unexpected.

Ms. Melissa and Laura – you two are such strong women. I dedicate this blog post to you and I know in my heart that you will take your experience and turn it into something remarkable.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynda Berretta permalink
    March 29, 2010 9:58 pm

    You brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for sharing all your stories, the good and the bad. Keep up the great fight!

  2. Melissa Bettis permalink
    March 30, 2010 9:42 am

    It just doesn’t ever seem to make sense why bad things happen to good people. Thanks for sharing this blog and reminding me why I do what I do for a living. My thoughts are with both of these women who I know will get an opportunity to be amazing moms someday.

Leave a Reply

