Skip to content

My Barber Shop

April 7, 2010

I don’t remember the first time I got a haircut.  Mom tells me I was excellent.  I sat in a big car and the hairstylist kept marveling at how still I sat for being 15 months old. 

BEFORE my first haircut (15 months old)

DURING my first haircut (15 months old)

AFTER my first haircut (15 months old)

My Mom never thought anything of it until the next time I got my haircut and then for like two years after that.  For some reason, I disliked getting my haircut so much that I would scream and have to be pinned down in the chair until the ordeal was over.  Mom and Dad said they didn’t know what to do with me.  They dreaded it so much and waited until my hair got so long I started looking like a girl before they made that next appointment.  Until we found Ms. Denny at Haircut Hangout.  Mom said she prepared Ms. Denny for the worst child ever.  Ms. Denny, who is from NY, is so cool and calm and patient, said, “Oh, I’ve seen it all, believe me.”  That first haircut with Ms. Denny I sat in an airplane with a huge baggie full of M&M’s and Thomas the Train playing on the TV monitor hanging from the wall.  I didn’t budge.  I didn’t say a word.  I ate the entire bag of M&M’s, watched three episodes of Thomas the Train, and got the BEST haircut ever!  Mom sat with her mouth gaped open the entire time and Ms. Denny had a smile on her face that said “stick with me!”  That we did and four years later I still sit in an airplane and watch a DVD but I don’t need all those M&M’s anymore to distract me (although I’d sure love to have them!).  Alex and I get so excited when it’s haircut time so we can go to Ms. Denny’s, play with some cars and airplanes, watch some movies, oh, and get our hairs cut.  Sure wish I liked going to the Dentist as much as I like going to get my haircut.  (Stay tuned!!!)

Hooray! It's after school and we're getting our haircuts!

Sitting in my airplane getting my haircut.

Ms. Denny is the coolest hairstylist ever!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rick Gallo permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:01 pm

    How cool is that???!!! I’m coming over there to get my haircut….do they have anything I can fit into?? Maybe a tank or a dumptruck??

Leave a Reply

