Skip to content

10-cent Lemonade

May 6, 2010

Speaking about saving babies!

I was invited to be a Guest Speaker this morning for the one of the classes at my old school. I was very excited to go back and see my teacher Ms. Melissa and my friends from my class last year. They had some great questions to ask me and they really wanted to know all about the March of Dimes and how walking helps to save babies. I told them about how the money we all raise for the March of Dimes goes to things like the medicines I got when I was first born that helped me breath and stay alive. And how it helps the special doctors and nurses all know what to do when a baby is born so early. And even how to help a mom stay pregnant for nine months.  At the end, they gave me a handmade Thank You card and it had $45 in it.  They told me they sold Lemonade and Banana Bread to help save babies.  I thought that was such a great idea and so kind of them to help in our fight for preemies!  That was definitely a great way to start my day 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rick Gallo permalink
    May 6, 2010 8:09 pm

    That’s a great story Josh and thank you for sharing it with us. I think the kids at the school raising $45.00 on lemonade and banana bread sales is as important as some of our corporate sponsors. I believe this for two reasons…first, it teaches them the value of volunteering and raising money for a great cause and second, the MOD was started with one thin dime. The dollars of today are the dimes of yesterday and every single one is a step closer to accomplishing our mission.
    Thanks again Josh!!
    Mr Rick

  2. Leslie permalink
    May 8, 2010 12:20 pm

    Josh,
    I was SO happy when I read this one it made me cry! It was so GREAT seeing you and Alex and mommy, daddy, Grandma and Grandpa today at your Hometown walk. I missed you guys so much!
    I can’t wait to see you again!
    Miss Leslie

Leave a Reply

